Chester St Peter, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chester St Peter, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Chester St Peter, Cheshire
St Peter Church Chester.jpg
St Peter Church Chester
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Chester Incorporation
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1588
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office


Parish History

CHESTER is a city and two sub-districts in Great Boughton district, Cheshire; and a diocese in Cheshire and part of Lancashire. The city stands on the river Dee and on the Via Devana, 5 miles SE of the head of the Dee's estuary, and 16, through Birkenhead, SSE of Liverpool.
The places of worship within the city, in 1851, were 15 of the Church of England; St. Peter was among those 15.[1]

Chester St Peter Chester is an ancient parish church serving part of the city of Chester.

St Peter's Church, Chester is in Eastgate Street in the centre of the city of Chester, Cheshire, England, immediately to the north of Chester Cross. It is a Grade I listed building. It is an active Anglican parish church in the diocese of Chester, the archdeaconry of Chester and the deanery of Chester. Its benefice is united with that of St John's, Chester.

A church is said to have been built on this site by Ethelfleda in 907. The present church dates from the 14th, 15th and 16th centuries, with modifications in the following three centuries. Formerly the tower had a spire which was removed and rebuilt in the 16th century, taken down in the 17th century, then rebuilt and finally removed "having been much injured by lightning" about 1780. In 1886 the church was restored by John Douglas, which included the addition of a pyramidal spire.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241256.

Church Records

Chester St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Chester St Peter Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BT'S 1797-1825

To find the names of the neighbo ring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for St. Peter's Church, Chester, 1588-1958  Cheshire Record Office reference: P 63/1/1-3, P63/2/1-3, P63/3/1-5, P63/4/1-3, P63/5, P63/4658/1-3, P63/5266

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records

Parish register: St  Peter's Church, chester
FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1588-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1956. BRITISH 2045912
Marriages, 1813-1913. Banns, 1823-1904 BRITISH 2045913
Marriages, 1913-1958. Banns, 1904-1945 BRITISH 2262740 Items 9 - 12
Burials, 1813-1849 BRITISH 2045918 Item 1

Bishop's transcripts for St. Peter's Church, Chester, 1600-1879 Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 61

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop's Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records

Bishop's Transcripts: St Peter's Church, Chester Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600, 1610-1611, 1613-1617, 1625-1627, 1629-1635, 1637-1640, 1663, 1666-1676, 1679-1680, 1682, 1684, 1700, 1710-1711, 1714-1717, 1719-1720, 1723-1725, 1727, 1732-1740, 1742-1744, 1746, 1748-1823, 1825. Marriages, (Jan.-Dec.) 1824. BRITISH
1655592 Item 2
Marriages, May-Dec. 1824.  Burials, baptisms, 1824, 1840-1843, 1845. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1826-1839.  Baptisms, 1846-1879. BRITISH
1655593 Item 1
Non-Conformist Churches

Nor Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Civil Registration Districts
  • Great Boughton (1837-69)

Poor Law Unions

Chester Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 121–126
  • Hubbard, Edward (1991), The Work of John Douglas, London: The Victorian Society, pp. 184, 256, ISBN 0 901657 16 6
  • Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, p. 123, ISBN 0 907768 18 0


Chester St Peter on GENUKI


  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 15 February 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 July 2015, at 15:32.
  • This page has been accessed 4,297 times.