Chesterfield, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chesterfield, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Chesterfield, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield St Mary & All Saints Derbyshire.jpg
Chesterfield St Mary & All Saints Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chesterfield PLU
Registration District Chesterfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1665
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chesterfield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Chesterfield St Mary and All Saints is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Calow, Newbold, Newbold and Dunston, Newbold and Dunston, Tapton, and Walton.

Chesterfield is perhaps best known for the "Crooked Spire" of its Church of Saint Mary and All Saints and is why the local football team is known as The Spireites.

The spire is both twisted and leaning, twisting 45 degrees and leaning 9 feet 6 inches (2.90 m) from its true centre. The cause is probably because the spire was added to the tower by inexperienced craftsmen using unseasoned timber and insufficient cross bracing. The effect of sun also distorted the timber roof. When slate and lead tiling was added this increased the rate of bend and twist. It is probably the most recognisable church spire in the country.

CHESTERFIELD (All Saints), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby; comprising the incorporated market-town of Chesterfield, which has a separate jurisdiction, and the townships of Calow, Hasland,Newbold with Dunstan, Tapton, Temple-Normanton, and Walton. Portions of the hamlets of Walton and Newbold, and the contiguous parts of the parish of Brampton, have been consolidated as a district to the new church of St. Thomas, Brampton. In 1838, a church was built and dedicated to the Holy Trinity. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chesterfield Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
Chesterfield PARISH (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's
NONE
  NONE
1902-1910
  NONE
1853-1899
  NONE
FREG 1558-1635,
1726-1750,
1761-1801
None 1558-1635,
1761-1844,
1901-1910,
1918-1924
None 1558-1635 None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes

Derbyshire Record Office reference D643 has deposited registers Bap 1558-2005 Mar 1558-1994

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1665-1883 Mar 1665-1837  Burials 1665-1883 Missing Bap Bur 1859.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Roman Catholic

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Chesterfield, but the exact parish has not been identified.

  • Baptist
  • Presbyterian
  • Roman Catholic
  • Sandemanian
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241296.


Genealogy

Dracos, Elizabeth. A Lancashire Family: Bond of Preston and Lancaster. History and family tree of Edward Bond and Ellen Willasey, dating from 1696-1986, with the following surnames: Dickinson, Sumner, Hetherington, Pickering, Newsam, Ward, Webber, Goldie, Percy, Taylor, Ryder, Dracos, Proctor, Pickard, Godsiff, Jordan, and Paris, with a branch emigrating to New Zealand, and Cape Town, South Africa. Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. vol.8, no.2. pages 18-25, Family History Library Ref. 942.72 B2r

Occupations

Chesterfield Canal Boat Registers.  A register of all Boats, Barges and other Vessels used on navigable rivers and inland Navigation, and number of men employed on board, 1795 listing for Chesterfield Canal, Co. Derby to Rivert Trent at or near Stockwith, Nottinghamshire, with an alphabetical listing at the end, dating from 1795-1877, avaliable in Nottinghamshire Family History Society vol. 110, pages 1-105, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions

Chesterfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chesterfield on GENUKI

Genealogy & History Chesterfield & District Family History Society

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 576-586. Date accessed: 24 June 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 20:18.
  • This page has been accessed 4,072 times.