Chesterfield Holy Trinity, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Chesterfield Holy Trinity, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy:parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chesterfield Holy Trinity, Derbyshire
Chesterfield Holy Trinity Derbyshire.jpg
Chesterfield Holy Trinity Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chesterfield PLU
Registration District Chesterfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chesterfield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHESTERFIELD (All Saints), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby; comprising the incorporated market-town of Chesterfield, which has a separate jurisdiction, and the townships of Calow, Hasland,Newbold with Dunstan, Tapton, Temple-Normanton, and Walton. Portions of the hamlets of Walton and Newbold, and the contiguous parts of the parish of Brampton, have been consolidated as a district to the new church of St. Thomas, Brampton. In 1838, a church was built and dedicated to the Holy Trinity. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chesterfield Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Chesterfield Holy Trinity Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
1876-1895
  NONE
1839-1909
  NONE

Chesterfield Holy Trinity was originally a chapel of ease to Chesterfield, Derbyshire which was licensed for baptisms and burials in 1838 and became a district church in 1841 for the Newbold area. It was licensed for marriages in 1853 and created as a parish in 1867. 

Derbyshire Record Office reference D935 has deposited registers Bap 1838-1983 Mar 1854-1978 Burials 1839-1900,1907-1940 Banns 1963-1989

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Chesterfield, but the exact parish has not been identified:

  • Baptist
  • Presbyterian
  • Roman Catholic
  • Sandemanian
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241296.


Poor Law Unions

Chesterfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chesterfield on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 576-586. Date accessed: 24 June 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,599 times.