Chettle, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chettle, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Chettle, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chettle, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Monckton-up-Wimbourne
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Wimborne and Cranborne
Registration District Wimborne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1732
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pimperne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office


Parish History

CHETTLE, a parish in Wimborne district, Dorset; 1½ mile SSW of Farnham, and 6½ NE of Blandford railway station. Post town, Farnham, under Blandford.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Chettle, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
1530-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1921 Ancestry[3] 1813-1819 Ancestry[4]
Indexes 1732-1879 FreeREG[5] 1715-1836 Joiner[6] 1732-1879 FreeREG[5]
1732-1846 FreeREG[5]

Chettle, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
Chettle, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1732-1879

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241340.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 05 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 Dorset Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 21 May 2012.
  6. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 June 2012.
  7. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 19:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,771 times.