Chetton, Shropshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chetton)

England Gotoarrow.png ShropshireGotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Chetton, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chetton, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stottesden
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Bridgnorth
Registration District Bridgnorth; Cleobury Mortimer
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; See also records for Glazeley and Deuxhill and also Loughton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1638; See also records for Glazeley and Deuxhill and also Loughton
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stottesdon
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office


Parish History

CHETTON (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Bridgnorth, hundred of Stottesden, S. division of Shropshire, 4 miles (S. by W.) from Bridgnorth; containing, the chapelry of Loughton.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chetton, Shropshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[3][4][5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Chetton, Shropshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1884

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1538-1879 1538-1854

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474589.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 576-586. Date accessed: 04 May 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 February 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 April 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 May 2015, at 15:19.
  • This page has been accessed 3,241 times.