Chew Magna, Somerset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chew Magna, Somerset)

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Chew Magna, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chew Magna, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chew
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Clutton
Registration District Clutton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chew
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office


Parish History

CHEW MAGNA (St. Andrew), a parish, and anciently a borough and market-town, in the union of Clutton, hundred of Chew, E. division of Somerset, 6½ miles (S.) from Bristol; containing the tythings of Bishop-Sutton, Knowle with Knighton-Sutton, North Elm, and Stone. At the north-eastern extremity of the parish is a ville, called Norton Hautville or Hawkfield. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, and Wesleyans.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chew Magna, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[5]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1562-1913




Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474595.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites - Official website of the Thomas Minor Society which was founded in Chew Magna in 1981 and contains information about St. Andrews parish.


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 15 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  3. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  5. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 December 2015, at 16:43.
  • This page has been accessed 5,670 times.