Chickerell, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chickerell, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Chickerell, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chickerell, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Culliford-Tree; Sutton Poyntz Liberty
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Weymouth
Registration District Weymouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1699
Bishop's Transcripts: 1731
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dorchester
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office


Parish History

CHICKERELL (West), a parish in Weymouth district, Dorset; on the coast, at the East Fleet, 3 miles NW by W of Weymouth town and railway station. It includes the tythings of East Chickerell and Putton.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Chickerell, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
1690-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1899 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1730-1879 Ancestry[6] 1723-1749 findmypast[7]
1723-1837 Joiner[8]
1790-1812 Ancestry[9]

Chickerell, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[10]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[11]
Chickerell, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241339.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 05 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012. Described as West Chickerell.
  7. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,', accessed 5 July 2012.
  8. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 June 2012.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  10. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  11. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 March 2015, at 20:29.
  • This page has been accessed 2,779 times.