Chickney, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chickney, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Chickney, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chickney, Essex
St. Mary's church, Chickney, Essex .jpg
St. Mary's church, Chickney, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dunmow
County Essex
Poor Law Union Dunmow PLU
Registration District Dunmow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1554
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630; 1639; 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunmow
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Chickney (St Mary the Virgin), is a parish in Dunmow district, Essex; 3 miles NE of Elsenham railway station, and 3 1/4 miles SW of Thaxted.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Chickney Parish Register Images and Indexes
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1554
1556
1556
Images 1554-1965 EssexAncestors[2] 1556-1943 EssexAncestors[2] 1556-1967 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes 1554-1810 FamilySearch[3] 1556-1811 FamilySearch[4]
1556-1800 findmypast[5]
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241367.


Poor Law Unions

Dunmow Poor Law Union,Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Chickney on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: Date Accessed 10 May 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. Batch C041841, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  4. Batch M041841, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  5. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, (WayBack Machine) accessed 3 March 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 14:34.
  • This page has been accessed 4,515 times.