Chinnor, Oxfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chinnor, Oxfordshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Chinnor, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Chinnor, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lewknor
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Thame; Wycombe
Registration District Wycombe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1581
Bishop's Transcripts: 1716
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aston
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office


Parish History

CHINNOR (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Wycombe, hundred of Lewknor, county of Oxford, 3½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Watlington. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chinnor, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Chinnor, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

IGI 1836-1855
OFHS 1581-1978

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474574.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 599-603. Date accessed: 17 September 2012.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', (Wayback Machine), accessed 21 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 16 January 2014.
  4. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 May 2015, at 19:27.
  • This page has been accessed 2,087 times.