Chippewa County, Michigan GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Chippewa County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Chippewa County, Michigan|
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
|Founded||February 1, 1827|
|County Seat||Sault Sainte Marie|
|Address|| Chippewa County Courthouse|
319 Court St.
Sault Sainte Marie, MI 49783
Phone: (906) 635-6300
Chippewa County Website
Chippewa County, Michigan Record Dates
County Clerk has birth records from 1869, marriage records from 1868,
death records from 1870, divorce records from 1891 and court records.
Probate Court has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records. 
See COUNTY EVOLUTION IN MICHIGAN, 1790-1897 by Richard W. Welch for the development of the counties in the state. This will help you to determine place of residence of your ancestors and under whose civil jurisdiction they resided. It is also useful for when you start to read the census records.
For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Michigan counties see: Michigan Counties with Burned Courthouses
- City: Sault Ste. Marie
- Village: De Tour Village
- Townships: Bay Mills . Bruce . Chippewa . Dafter . Detour . Drummond . Hulbert . Kinross . Pickford . Raber . Rudyard . Soo . Sugar Island . Superior . Trout Lake . Whitefish
- Communities: Barbeau . Bay Mills . Bay Mills Indian Community . Brimley . Dafter . Drummond . Keldon . Kincheloe . Paradise . Pickford . Rudyard . Stirlingville
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Chippewa County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.
Civil War service men from Chippewa County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Chippewa County.
Finding More Michigan Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Chippewa County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, Chippewa and search for Probate records in the list.
- Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.
Online Probate Records
- 1784 – 1980 Michigan Wills and Probate Records 1784-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1797 – 1973 Michigan Probate Records 1797-1973 at FamilySearch — images
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:
- Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.
- Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.
- How to order Michigan Vital Records
- Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
- Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch. Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
- Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
Societies and Libraries
- List of Michigan Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
- Bayliss Public Library
- Chippewa County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 219
Trout Lake, MI 49793-0219 Biographies, births and deaths, Census records, Naturalizations, Obituaries, Voters lists for 1870 and Sugar Island, and a surname list.
- Chippewa County Historical Society
P. O. Box 342
Sault Ste. Marie 49783 PHONE: (906) 635-7082
EMAIL: email@example.com The Society was established in 1919 and is dedicated to the preservation and promotion of local history through exhibits, research, and publication. The office houses permanent and rotating exhibits and a small research library. Call or email ahead for hours or an appointment.
- Pickford Area Historical Society
P. O. Box 572
Pickford, MI 49744 PHONE: (906) 647-2045 There is some family history, oral histories and archives available for people doing research.
- DeTour Passage Historical Museum
P. O. Box 111
De Tour, MI 49725 PHONE: (906) 297-3404 The museum features displays relating to early marine operations, social and governmental activities, pioneer families, Native American history, churches, schools, business and life in the early years of the DeTour area.
- Drummond Island Historical Society
P. O. Box 293
Drummond Island, MI 49726 PHONE: (906) 493-5746 A museum on the early settlers of Drummond Island, Native American history, Fort Drummond history and lumbering. There are some genealogy resources but very limited.
- LAKE SUPERIOR STATE UNIVERSITY
Kenneth J. Shouldice Library
906 Ryan Avenue
Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783 PHONE: (906) 635-2815 Special Collections areas are open for research by appointment, Monday through Friday 8 AM to 5 PM. MICHIGAN COLLECTION
This collection documents Michigan from Indian occupation to the present with emphasis on the tri-county area of the Eastern Upper Peninsula. Included are documents and publications by Henry Rowe Schoolcraft and Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, pictures and photographs, information about Fort Brady, and a vertical file. MARINE COLLECTION
This collection consists of printed materials on the history of water transportation on the Great Lakes and material on individual vessels, including pictures, photographs, maps and vertical file. THE OCHSNER COLLECTION
The collection includes books on archeology and cultural history as well as an extensive collection of Native American, European and African artifacts. GENEALOGICAL RESEARCH
Some helpful resources are available. A bibliography is available from the Reference Desk.
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Chippewa County, MI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Michigan Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Michigan Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- The Chippewa County MIGenWeb Project, an member of The MIGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 369-384. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chippewa County, Michigan page 344, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 13 October 2015, at 19:33.
- This page has been accessed 13,540 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News