Chirk, WrexhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chirk)

WalesGotoarrow.pngWrexhamGotoarrow.pngChirk

Eglwys y waun.png
Chirk (Welsh: Y Waun) is a small town, community and ecclesiastical parish in the County Borough of Wrexham, Wales, between the towns of Wrexham and Oswestry.

Contents

History

The town of Chirk, and much of the surrounding area was for centuries under the influence of nearby Chirk Castle and, later, the Trevor family of Brynkinallt in Chirk.

The parish of Chirk was divided into five townships:

  • Chirk
  • Halton (Welsh: Halchdyn)
  • Brynkinallt (Welsh: Bryncunallt)
  • Pen y Clawdd
  • Gwernospin
Chirk Parish Church

Chirk was formerly a coal mining community, with coal being worked since the 17th century. The largest of these collieries were Black Park (one of the oldest in the north of Wales) and Brynkinallt. All mining ceased in the area during the 1960s.

It was a coaching stop on the old mail coach route along the A5 road from London to Holyhead.

The Chester to Ruabon railway had been extended south to Shrewsbury by 1848 with stations at Llangollen Road (at Whitehurst) and Chirk. South of the town a railway viaduct was constructed by Henry Robertson to take the line over the Ceiriog Valley.

Administration

Years County
before1536 Chirkland
1536 - 31 March 1974 Denbighshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Wrexham

Records

Civil Records

Births, marriages and deaths in Chirk are recorded in the GRO indexes as:

Years Sub-district District Volumes
1 Jul 1837 - 30 Sep 1935 St. Martin's Oswestry XVIII (1837-51)
6a (1852-1935)
1 Oct 1935 - 1974 Wrexham 11b (1935-1946)
8A (1946-74)

Church Records

The following Chirk Parish Registers have been deposited at the National Library of Wales in Aberystwyth:

Baptisms 1678 - 1956
Marriages: 1611 - 1971
Burials 1611 - 1975

The Clwyd Family History Society have published several volumes of the Chirk parish registers:

There are no official records available on the IGI for Chirk parish.

Nonconformist Church Records

 

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464319.

The parish of Chirk formed part of the Oswestry Registrar's District.

Year Parts
1841 HO107/1399 Book 1 Folio 1 - Book 4 Folio 20
1851 HO107/1399 Folios 770-829
1861 RG9/1880 Folios 67-116
1871 RG10/2784 Folios 3-56
1881 RG11/2661 folios 36-95
1891 RG12/2188 folios 126-179
1901 RG13/

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

In 1791, the Hundred of Oswestry and the border parishes of Chirk and Llansilin were incorporated under a local Act for poor relief. A workhouse was built at Morda.

The records for the Oswestry Union are held at Shropshire Record Office in Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England.

Maps and Gazetteers

Bibliography

  • C Neville Hurdsman, "A History of the Parish of Chirk", 1996, ISBN:187242452X

Web Sites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 June 2013, at 17:39.
  • This page has been accessed 2,501 times.