Cholsey, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Cholsey, Berkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Cholsey

Guide to Cholsey, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cholsey, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Reading
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wallingford
Registration District Wallingford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wallingford
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office


Parish History

CHOLSEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and parliamentary borough of Wallingford, hundred of Reading, though locally in the hundred of Moreton, county of Berks, 3 miles (S. W.) from Wallingford.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cholsey, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Cholsey, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

BIVRI 1607-1698, 1748-1835
1607-1697, 1748-1835

IGI 1540-1838
1547-1606, 1617-1837

OFHS 1541-2001
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241203.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Cholsey in GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 603-607. Date accessed: 01 April 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 January 2014.
  5. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 October 2015, at 23:36.
  • This page has been accessed 3,276 times.