Chorley St George, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Chorley St George, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chorley-St George church.JPG

Contents

Chapelry History

Chorley (St George) was created a chapelry in 1835, taken from and lying within the parish of Chorley St Laurence, Lancashire in the Leyland deanery of the 1847 created Diocese of Manchester. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, Baptists, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/


Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Chorley St. George chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Chorley St. Laurence to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


CHORLEY ST GEORGE Chapelry  (1836) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1836-1900 1836-1900 1836-1860
LOPC 1836-1900 1836-1900 1836-1900
LBMD None 1837-1975 None
CHORLEY ST LAURENCE PARISH (1548) Indexes (ancient parish containing CHORLEY ST GEORGE Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1549-1895 1548-1900 1822-1899 (part.)
LOPC 1548-1900 1548-1652, 1654-1904 1548-1856
LBMD 1837-1974 1837-1975 1837-1974
FMP None 1548-1837 None
AC 1548-1653 1548-1653 1548-1653


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Chorley St. George and comprising the whole ancient parish of Chorley St. Laurence to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the CHORLEY ST LAURENCE PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306911.


Poor Law Unions

Chorley Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites 

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 603-607.Date accessed 16 September 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 April 2014, at 03:05.
  • This page has been accessed 2,090 times.