Chowan County, North Carolina GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Chowan County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Chowan County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
101 S Broad St
Edenton, Nc 27932
Register of Deeds has marriage and land records
Clerk Superior Court has probate and court records
Register of Deeds
PO Box 487
Edenton, NC 27932
Clerk of Superior Court
PO Box 588
Edenton, NC 27932
Telephone: (252) 368-5000
Chowan was formed in 1670 as a precinct in Albemarle County. It was named in honor of the Indian tribe Chowan, which lived in the northeastern part of the Colony. It is in the northeastern section of the State and is bounded by Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, and Bertie, Hertford, Gates and Perquimans counties. The present land area is 172.64 square miles and the 2000 population was 14,150. In 1720, Edenton, which was named in honor of Governor Charles Eden, was established. In 1722 it was designated and has continued to be the county seat.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
- Many court records said to have been destroyed by acting clerk of court.
For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses
Business Directories & Year Books
- 1872 Chowan Co., NC Business Directory
- 1903 Chowan Co., NC Business Directory
- 1904 Chowan Co., NC Business Directory
- 1905 Chowan Co., NC Business Directory
- 1910 Chowan Co., NC Business Directory
- 1911 Chowan Co., NC Business Directory
- 1912 Chowan Co., NC Business Directory
- 1913 Chowan Co., NC Business Directory
- 1914 Chowan Co., NC Business Directory
- 1915 Chowan Co., NC Business Directory
- 1916 Chowan Co., NC Business Directory
- Index to Chowan Co., NC Year Books
- Chowan Co., NC Cemetery List
- Selected Burial Information
- Chowan Co., NC Tombstone Transcription Project
- Chowan Co., NC Cemetery Survey
- Chowan Co., NC Cemeteries on Find-A-Grave
- Famous people buried in Chowan Co., NC
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||[FINDAGRAVEURLCEMETERY Findagrave.com]|
|[NCGENWEBURL NCGenWeb]||[WORLDCATLINK WorldCat]||[BILLIONGRAVESCEMETERY Billion Graves]|
|[USGENWEBARCHIVES NCGenWeb Archives]|
|[USGENWEBTOMBSTONEURL Tombstone Project]|
|[NORTHCAROLINACEMETERIES North Carolina Cemeteries]|
|[BILLIONGRAVESNAMES Billion Graves]|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1787 Census for Chowan Co., NC
- 1790 Census for Chowan Co., NC
- Free Men Heads of Household for 1790, 1800, & 1820
For tips on accessing Chowan County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
Church of England
- Chowan Parish, aka St. Paul's Church, Edenton, N.C. Established 1701. Current church built 1737-1774. Hathaway's history (1900) is online.
- East Parish.
- Northeast Parish.
- South Parish. Established 1722.
- Southwest Parish. Established by 1721.
Vestry minutes have been published twice:
- Cain, Robert J., ed. The Church of England in North Carolina: Documents, 1699-1741. Raleigh, N.C.: Division of Archives and History, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, 1999. FHL Book 975.6 K2cr. See Appendix.
- Fouts, Raymond Parker. The Vestry Minutes of St. Paul's Parish, Chowan County, North Carolina, 1701-1776. Second Edition. Cocoa, Fla., 1998. 1983 edition: FHL Book 975.6147 K2f.
- de Clugny Coddington, John Insley. "The Marquis de Clugny at Edenton, North Carolina, 1795-1798," The American Genealogist, Vol. 42, No. 3 (Jul. 1966):144-148. FHL 973 D25aga v. 42; digital version at New England Ancestors ($).
- Jones Jones, L.H. Captain Roger Jones of London and Virginia, Some of His Antecedents and Descendants: With Appreciative Notice of Other Families, viz.: Bathurst, Belford, Browning, Carter, Catesby, Cocke, Graham, Fauntleroy, Hickman, Hoskins, Latanes, Lewis, Meriwether, Skelton, Walker, Waring, Woodford, and Others: Notes. Albany, N.Y.: J. Munsell's Sons, 1891. FHL Fiche 6060672; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online; Google Books; Internet Archive.
- Mansfield - Dail, Louise Jordan and Doris Jordan McGue. Mansfields of Chowan and Perquimans Counties, North Carolina: and Allied Lines of Caruthers, Floyd and Williams. 2004. FHL Book 929.273 M317dL.
- Early Names, Boundaries & Religion
- The Signers of the Resolution of the Edenton Tea Party
- History of North Carolina's Parishes
- NC State Map with clickable counties
- Chowan Co., NC Township Map
- Formation of NC in Maps
- 1730 Herman Moll Map
- Edward Mosley Map
- 1744 Map of Lord Carteret's Land Grant
- 1775 Henry Mouzon, Jr. Map
- 1808 Price-Strothers Map
- Civil War Maps
- 1895 NC State Map
- 1936 Chowan Co., NC Map
- Animated Atlas
- 1812 NC Muster Rolls
- Third Battalion NC Light Artillery; Company B from Chowan Co., NC
- Veterans Administration Pension Payment Cards 1907-1933
- WWII Honor List of Dead or Missing from Chowan Co., NC
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Chowan County.
- Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.
Civil War Confederate units
Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- -1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, usually known as the Bethel Regiment.
- -1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- -11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company F
:- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company A
:- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry,usually known as the Bethel Regiment., Company M
:- 3rd Battalion, North Carolina Light Artillery, Company B
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- Chronicling America (Chowan Co., NC)
- North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project, North Carolina State Archives. Search full text historical newspapers published in Edenton.
- UNC Southern Historical Collection
Online Probate Records
- 1660 – 1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $]
- 1663 - 1979 North Carolina Estate Files 1663-1979 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1665 - 1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 – 1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Chowan County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1694-1928 - Will Books 1 to 4 and A to G (1694-1928) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- 1800 - 2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1898 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1741-1800 - "Marriage Bonds," The North Carolina Historical and Genealogical Register, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Apr. 1900):235-255. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
- 1801-1825 - "Abstract of Marriage Bonds of Chowan County," The North Carolina Historical and Genealogical Register, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Jul. 1900):392-414. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
- 1826-1838 - "Abstract of Marriage Bonds of Chowan County," The North Carolina Historical and Genealogical Register, Vol. 1, No. 4 (Oct. 1900):558-567. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
- 1851-1958 - Chowan County Marriage Index 1851-1958 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- Chowan Co., NC Bastardy Bonds
- 1742-1868 - Chowan County Marriage Bonds 1742-1868, available to members North Carolina Pioneers $
- Pre 1799 - North Carolina Marriages to 1799, a database, available to members. North Carolina Pioneers $
- 1741-2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759-1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762–1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
Wills & Estates
Societies and Libraries
Family Research Society of Northeastern NC
P.O. Box 1425
Elizabeth City, NC 27906-1425
Family history Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Chowan County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Treasures of North Carolina at the NC Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- North Carolina Pioneers North Carolina Pioneers$
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chowan County, North Carolina. Page 507 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:475, 485. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ Lawrence Foushee London and Sarah McCulloh Lemmon, The Episcopal Church in North Carolina, 1701-1959 (Raleigh, N.C.: The Episcopal Diocese of North Carolina, 1987), 21. FHL Book 975.6 K2e; "St. Paul's Episcopal Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ J.R.B. Hathaway, "The First Church Built in North Carolina and Its Location, Etc.," The North Carolina Historical and Genealogical Register, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Apr. 1900):256-266. Digitized by Internet Archive - free.
- ↑ J.R.B. Hathaway, "St. Paul's Church, Edenton, N.C.," The North Carolina Historical and Genealogical Register, Vol. 1, No. 4 (Oct. 1900):600-609. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 7.2 7.3 Robert J. Cain, ed., The Church of England in North Carolina: Documents, 1699-1741 (Raleigh, N.C.: Division of Archives and History, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, 1999), xxxiii, 501. FHL Book 975.6 K2cr.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 30 January 2016, at 03:46.
- This page has been accessed 32,019 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News