Christ Church Parish, South CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Before the American Revolution, the state church of South Carolina was the Church of England (the Anglican Church, or Protestant Episcopal Church). Besides keeping parish registers, the church kept many records of a civil nature in their vestry books. The Vestry was as much a political body as a religious one. The wardens and commissioners were responsible for the roads, education, the poor and orphans, voting and collecting taxes in addition to their church duties.
Areas Served: Christ Church Parish served:
- Gregorie, Anne King. "Cemetery Inscriptions from Christ Church Parish," The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 21, No. 2 (Apr. 1920):73-76; Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jul., 1920):132-135. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
Select graves are photographed and transcribed at Find A Grave.
The cemetery records for the Independent or Congregational Church at Wappetaw have also been transcribed:
- "Inscriptions from the Church Yard of the Independent or Congregational Church at Wappetaw, Christ Church Parish," The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 25, No. 3 (Jul. 1924):136-142. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
- [Bond] Webber, Mabel L. "The Bond Family of Hobcaw Plantation, Christ Church Parish," The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 25, No. 1 (Jan. 1924):1-22. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
- [Bond] "Corrections: The Bond Family of Hobcaw Plantation, Christ Church Parish," The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 25, No. 3 (Jul. 1924):158. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
- Gregorie, Anne King. Christ Church, 1706-1959, A Plantation Parish of the South Carolina Establishment. Charleston, S.C.: The Dalcho Historical Society, 1961.
For an early history of the parish, see Chapter 7, Christ Church Parish, pages 275-283, in:
- Dalcho, Frederick. An Historical Account of the Protestant Episcopal Church in South Carolina from the First Settlement of the Province, to the War of the Revolution; with Notices of the Present State of the Church in Each Parish and Some Account of the Early Civil History of Carolina, Never Before Published. Charleston: E. Thayer, 1820. FHL Film 22657; digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive.
In the 1950s, the parish held its registers at the church. The records begin in 1694. Copies: FHL Films 22741 Item 4, 23438. Births and christenings are indexed on the IGI for the years 1694 to 1843. Abstracts have also been published:
- South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vols. 18-22 FHL Book 975.7 B2s v. 18-22. Digital versions at JSTOR ($).
South Carolina Historical Society holdings: "Christ (Episcopal) Church. Mt. Pleasant. Records, 1674-1865. 4 vols."
- "Vol. of births and baptisms (1694-1743); marriages (1723-51); burials (1709-59); church proceedings (1708-59); vestrymen’s oath of allegiance to Queen Ann, to belief in royal supremacy over the church, and to compliance with the Test Act; mention of illegitimate births, including occasionally the father’s, and more rarely the mother’s, name. Family names recurring include Haddrill, I’on, Logan, Maybank, Metheringham, Pinckney, Player, and Wigfall; among notables in the early decades were Dr. Andrew Rutledge and Gov. Robert Daniell. Births and baptisms (1737-88); marriages (1758-85), and deaths and burials (1721-89); the first 14 pages in the vol. are missing. Eden, Jay, Neyle, and Whiteside are new family names appearing. Copies of these 2 vols. made by Edmund Hall in 1880 and used, with the originals, in preparing the text of the registers which appeared in this Magazine (1917-21)."
-  "1784 Tax Returns," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 3, No. 3 (Summer 1975):178-182. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 3
-  "1786 Tax Returns," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 8, No. 1 (Winter 1980):27-28. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 8
- Episcopal Christ Church Parish, Mt. Pleasant, SC waypoint brief history
- Christ Church Marker, The Historical Marker Database
- Christ Church: The Episcopal Church of Christ Church Parish Marker, The Historical Marker Database
- ↑ "The Formation of Counties in South Carolina," at the South Carolina Department of Archives and History website, accessed 21 January 2011.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 "South Carolina Districts and Parishes 1770" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Royal_Colony/sc_royal_colony_districts_parishes_1770.html (accessed 11 May 2011).
- ↑ Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Genealogical Department. Christ Church Parish, Charleston, South Carolina Computer Printout; Births or Christenings, 1694-1843. FHL Film 1001815 Item 7
- ↑ Margaretta Childs, and Isabella G. Leland, "South Carolina Episcopal Church Records," South Carolina Historical Magazine 84 (October 1983): 258. Digital version at JSTOR ($). WorldCat entry. FHL Book 975.7 B2s v. 84.
- This page was last modified on 30 January 2015, at 04:32.
- This page has been accessed 9,426 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News