Chumleigh, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Chumleigh, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||South Molton PLU|
|Registration District||South Molton|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1610|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
CHULMLEIGH (St. Mary Magdalene), a markettown and parish, in the union of South Molton, hundred of Witheridge, South Molton and N. divisions of Devon, 21½ miles (N. W.) from Exeter, and 194 (W. by S.) from London. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Chumleigh, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Chumleigh, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Bible Christian Methodist
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241328.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Chumleigh on GENUKI
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:45.
- This page has been accessed 2,021 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More