Church Broughton, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Church Broughton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Church Broughton, Derbyshire|
|Poor Law Union||Burton upon Trent PLU|
|Registration District||Burton upon Trent|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
BROUGHTON, CHURCH (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Burton-Upon-Trent, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 8½ miles (E.) from Uttoxeter with the hamlet of Sapperton. There is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists..
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241287.
Church Broughton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Church Broughton St Michael (1538) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1545-1912
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Primitive Methodist
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Burton upon Trent
Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District . http://www.staffordshirebmd.org.uk/cgi/birthind.cgi?county=staffordshire The registration district prior to 1937 included this parish. From 1937 onwards the Repton district was responsible. Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Poor Law Unions
- Burton upon Trent
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Church Broughton on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 21:21.
- This page has been accessed 1,478 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News