Church of the Ascension, Torrisholme, Lancashire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
The Church of the Ascension, Lancaster Road Torrisholme near Morecambe Lancashire was founded in 1938.
The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Include here information for parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Census returns for Poulton, Lancashire, Bare, and Torrisholme, 1841-1891 are available in the Family History library Catalogue.
Poor Law Unions
The church was founded after the closure of Lancaster Poor Law Union,Lancashire but Torrisholme was in that union previously.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
" England Jurisdictions 1851
" Vision of Britain
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 11 March 2015, at 19:48.
- This page has been accessed 1,725 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News