Cilcain, Flintshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Cilcain, Flintshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngFlintshireGotoarrow.pngCilcain

A guide to genealogy in Cilcain, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Cilcain is a small community and ecclesiastical parish in Flintshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Flintshire.

Contents

History

In 1890: "Cilcain is a very ancient village, lying beneath Moel Fammau, the highest of the Clwydian Hills. ... This village lies in the midst, and commands an extensive range, of most beautiful scenery. The cottages and farmhouses are nearly all whitewashed or coloured, and look exceedingly picturesque." [From Handy Guide to Mold and the Neighbourhood, Tweddel, 1890]

Cilcain was one of the "ancient parishes" of Flintshire. It originally comprised the seven townships of Cefn, Llan (or Tre'r Llan), Llystynhunydd (or Glust), Llys y Coed, Maes y Groes, Mechlas (or Dolfechlas), and Trellyniau.
On 27 June 1848, the township of Trellyniau and part of the township of Llystynhunydd went to the new parish of Rhesycae. On 31 March 1865, the remainder of Llystynhunydd, and parts of the townships of Cefn and Mechlas went to the new parish of Rhydymwyn.

For more information on Cilacain, see Genuki - Cilcain

Records

Civil Records

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464323.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 942 times.