Cilrhedyn, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCilrhedyn

A guide to genealogy in Cilrhedyn, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Cilrhedyn is a small village in Carmarthenshire, Wales. It was formerly an ecclesiastical parish but was merged with the parish if Cenarth in 1934.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

KÎLRHEDYN (CÎL-RHEDYN), a parish, in the union of NEWCASTLE-EMLYN, partly in the hundred of ELVET, county of CARMARTHEN, and partly in that of KILGERRAN, county of PEMBROKE, SOUTH WALES, 5 miles (S.W.) from Newcastle-Emlyn. This place is situated on the Star road leading from Carmarthen to Cardigan. The parish, the greater part of which is in Carmarthenshire, is intersected by the small river Cych, which here forms the boundary line between the two counties. The river Pedran winds through the lands, which are in some places low and flat, and in others hilly, ornamented occasionally with oak and other timber. The church is situated in the county of Pembroke, and dedicated to St. Teilo. There are places of worship for Independents, Baptists, and Presbyterians. [1]

For more information on Cilrhedyn see Cilrhedyn at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • findmypast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.



Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 14 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 915 times.