Cilycwm, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Cilycwm, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCilycwm

A guide to genealogy in Cilycwm, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Cilycwm is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

KÎLYCWM (CÎL-Y-CWM), a parish, in the union of LLANDOVERY, higher division of the hundred of CAYO, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 4 miles (N.N.W.) from Llandovery; comprising the Upper and Lower hamlets. This parish, which is intersected by the river Towy, extends for nearly ten miles in length, and is in some parts five miles in breadth, being for the most part inclosed: copper and lead ores abound within its limits, and mines of both were formerly worked to a considerable extent, but they are not now in operation. The church is dedicated to St. Michael. There are three places of worship for Baptists, and one for Calvinistic Methodists. There are five Sunday schools conducted by gratuitous teachers, in one of which, connected with the Established Church, are instructed in English and Welsh; the rest, appertaining to the dissenters, are taught the Welsh language only.[1]

For more information on Cilycwm see Cilycwm at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464308.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 456-459. Adapted. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2016, at 04:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,405 times.