Citizen Potawatomi Nation, OklahomaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Indians of Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Citizen Potawatomi Nation, Oklahoma

Guide to Citizen Potawatomi ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Potawatomi, Chief Shabbona.jpg

Contents

Tribal Headquarters

Citizen Potawatomi Nation
1601 S. Gordon Cooper Drive
Shawnee, OK 74801
Phone: 1.405.275.3121
Fax: 1.405.275.0198

Website: www.potawatomi.org

History

Brief Timeline

Additional References to the History of the Tribe and/or Band

Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Citizen Potawatomi Nation, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods.

Population: 1984: Enrollment 11,088 [1]

Reservations

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Land Records

Tribally owned land: 261.34 acres. Allotted land: 3,769.46 acres [2]

Web Sites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References

  1. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2 page 220
  2. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2 page 219

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 August 2015, at 15:17.
  • This page has been accessed 3,968 times.