Clarke County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Clarke County, Georgia)

United States Gotoarrow-kelly.png Georgia Gotoarrow-kelly.png Clarke County

Guide to Clarke County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records


Clarke County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Clarke County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 5, 1801
County Seat Athens
Courthouse
Address Clarke County Courthouse
325 E Washington Street Rm 200
PO Box 1868
Athens, GA 30601
Phone: 706.613.3031
Clarke County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Clarke County Courthouse
325 E Washington Street Rm 200
PO Box 1868
Athens, GA 30601
Phone: 706.613.3031

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, land and court records from 1801 and military records from 1922; County Health Department has birth and death records from 1919; Probate Court had marriage and probate records from 1801.[1]

Beginning Dates for Clarke County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1919

1919

1801
1801

History

Parent County

1801--Clarke County was created 5 December 1801 from Jackson County.County seat: Athens [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported damage.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Barrow  • Jackson  • Madison  • Oconee  • Oglethorpe

Clarke CountyOconee CountyWalton CountyNewton CountyJasper CountyMorgan CountyGreene CountyTaliaferro CountyWarren CountyWilkes CountyOglethrorpe CountyElbert CountyHart CountyFranklin CountyMadison CountyBanks CountyHall CountyJackson CountyBarrow CountyGAClarke.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Methodist Episcopal

First Methodist Episcopal Church, Athens

  • 1825-1884 - First Methodist Episcopal Church, Athens, Baptism Index 1825-1884. Batch C712491 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1825-1884 - First Methodist Episcopal Church, Athens, Marriage Index 1825-1884. Batch M712491 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Methodist Episcopal Church South, Winterville

  • 1890-1895 - Methodist Episcopal Church South, Winterville, Baptism Index 1890-1895. Batch C712501 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1890-1895 - Methodist Episcopal Church South, Winterville, Marriage Index 1890-1895. Batch M712501 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

  Index to Deed Boo A 1802-1804 Georgia Pioneers.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clarke County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • History of Athens and Clarke County. Athens, Ga.?: H.J. Rowe, 1923. Digital version at Ancestry.
  • Hull, Augustus Longstreet. Annals of Athens, Georgia, 1801-1901. Athens, Ga.?: Banner Job Office, 1906, c1907. Digital version at Ancestry ($) or for free at Google Books.

Maps

Gaclarke.jpg

Military

Civil War Confederate Units

Regiments. Service men in Clarke County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Clarke County, Georgia Genealogy:



- Carlton's Company, Georgia Artillery (Troup Artillery) (Confederate)
- 3rd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) Companies K and L
- 5th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company N
-37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company E
- 44th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) Company C
- 66th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company I
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project (also has other war's information)


  • Jones, Charles C., and Joseph B. Cuimming. 1993. Military operations in Georgia during the War between the States: address delivered before the Confederate Survivors Association in August a, Georgia upon the occasion of its' fifteenth annual reunion on Memorial Day, April 26th, 1893. Conway, Arkansas: Olbuck Press. 975.8 M29j
  • Stegeman, John F. 1964. These men she gave: Civil War diary of Athens, Georgia. Athens, Ga: University of Georgia Press. (page 146-158)  975.818 M25st
  • Georgia. Inferior Court (Clarke County). 1960. Bonds to support families of Confederate soldiers 1861-1869, and, discharge certificates of Confederate soldiers 1864 [Clarke County, Georgia]. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 214554 item 1,2,3
  • Mitchell, Albert L. 1960. Roster of companies furnished by Clarke County, Georgia, to the Confeder ate Army in the War between the States, 1861-1865. [S.l.]: Mann Film Laboratories. Film 219472 item 3

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clarke County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • Athens Historic Newspaper Archives - Digital Library of Georgia contains full-text issues of 5 historic Athens newspapers. Titles include Athenian (1827-1832), Southern Banner (1832-1882), Southern Watchman (1855-1882),Daily/Weekly Banner-Watchman (1882-1889), Daily/Weekly Athens Banner (1889-1922). Search or Browse available. Viewing papers requires download of free DjVu Browser Plug-in.

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
  • 1808-1851 - Clarke County Birth Index 1808-1851. Batch C531927 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage Records

1828 - 1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $ 1699 - 1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $

  • Marriages from Newspapers 1885-1886 Georgia Pioneers.
  • 1805-1852 - Clarke County Marriage Books A thru D Index 1805-1852. Batch M531921 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1808 - Clarke County Marriage Index 1808. Batch M531927 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1846-1872 - Clarke County Marriage Books D and E Index 1846-1872. Batch M531922 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1871-1885 - Clarke County Marriage Books F thru H Index 1871-1885. Batch M531923 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1886-1890 - Clarke County Marriage Books F thru H Index 1886-1890. Batch M531924 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1890-1901 - Clarke County Marriage Books I and J Index 1890-1901. Batch M531925 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records

1919 - 1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $

  • 1849-50, 1879-80 - Clarke County, Georgia Genealogy Mortality Schedules at Ancestry.
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clarke County, Georgia. Page 153 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 20. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.00 4.01 4.02 4.03 4.04 4.05 4.06 4.07 4.08 4.09 4.10 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 July 2015, at 03:27.
  • This page has been accessed 21,023 times.