Clatford Park, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Clatford Park, Wiltshire)

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Clatford Park, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Clatford Park, Wiltshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Selkey
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Marlborough
Registration District Marlborough
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office


Parish History

CLATFORD, a tything, in the parish of Preshute, union of Marlborough, hundred of Selkley, Marlborough and Ramsbury, and N. divisions of Wilts, 1½ mile (W. S. W.) from Marlborough. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • findmypast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as
  • The ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 620-623. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 May 2015, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,432 times.