Claxby with Normanby le Wold, LincolnshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.png  Lincolnshire Parishes

Claxby with Normanby le Wold, Lincolnshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Walshcroft
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Caistor PLU
Registration District Caistor
Records begin
Parish registers: 1566; Separate registers exist for Normanby le Wold beginning 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563; Separate records exist for Normanby le Wold beginning 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walshcroft
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NORMANBY-on-the-Wold (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Caistor, N. division of the wapentake of Walshcroft, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 4 miles (N. by E.) from Market-Rasen. It was united to that of Claxby in 1740.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Claxby by Normanby Par 1 and Normanby le Wold Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Claxby with Normanby le Wold


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438767.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Caistor Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 421-423. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 21:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,417 times.