Cleeve Priors, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Cleeve Prior, Worcestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Cleeve Priors, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cleeve Priors, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oswaldslow
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Evesham PLU
Registration District Evesham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1598
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pershore
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CLEEVE, PRIOR (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Evesham, Upper division of the hundred of Oswaldslow, locally in the Upper division of that of Blackenhurst, Pershore and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, 5½ miles (N. E.) from Evesham.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464210.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 05 October 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 May 2015, at 13:59.
  • This page has been accessed 1,275 times.