Clinton County, Michigan GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Clinton County, Michigan)

United States Gotoarrow.png Michigan Gotoarrow.png Clinton County, Michigan

Guide to Clinton County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Clinton County, Michigan
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 1, 1840
County Seat Harrisville
Courthouse
Address Clinton County Courthouse
100 E State St.
P. O. Box 69
St. Johns, MI 48879-1571

Phone: (517) 224-5140
Clinton County Website

Contents

County Information

Facebook

Clinton County, Michigan Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1867 1840 1867 1820 1837 1840

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth and death records from 1867,
marriage records from 1839, divorce records from
early 1800’s and court records. [2]

History

  • Named for DeWitt Clinton, U.S. Senator and Governor of New York

Parent County

1831--Clinton County was created 2 March 1831 from unoganized territory. It was attached to Kent and Shiawassee Counties prior to organization 12 March 1869. County seat St. Johns [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

See also COUNTY EVOLUTION IN MICHIGAN, 1790-1897 by Richard W. Welch for the development of the counties in the state. This will help you to determine place of residence of your ancestors and under whose civil jurisdiction they resided. It is also useful for when you start to read the census records.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Michigan counties see: Michigan Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Michigan Community Names By County

Post Offices

Historic Post Offices

  • Cities:

DeWitt

Charter Township

Charter Township

St. Johns

City Hall

  • Villages: Eagle . Elsie . Fowler . Hubbardston . Maple Rapids . Ovid . Westphalia
  • Townships: Bath . Bengal . Bingham . Dallas . DeWitt . Duplain . Eagle . Essex . Greenbush . Lebanon . Olive . Ovid . Riley . Victor . Watertown . Westphalia
  • Communities: Bath . Eureka . Matherton . Shepardsville . Wacousta

Neighboring Counties

Eaton County  • Gratiot County  • Ingham County  • Ionia County  • Montcalm] County  • Saginaw County  • Shiawasse County

Clinton CountyIonia CountyMontcalm CountyGenesee CountyLivingston CountyBarry CountyEaton CountyIngham CountyShiawassee CountySaginaw CountyGratiot CountyMIClinton.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Clinton Co.

Clinton Co. Tombstone Project

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Article on Deeds.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Clinton County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Maps

Miclinton.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Clinton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Clinton County.


- 1st Regiment, Michigan Cavalry, Company D
 


Newspapers

Finding More Michigan Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clinton County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, Clinton and search for Probate records in the list.

Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

Societies and Libraries

State wide or ethnic groups

AFRICAN-AMERICAN

Fred Hart Williams Genealogical Society
c/o Burton Historical Collection, DPL
5201 Woodward Avenue
Detroit MI 48202-4007
Publication is Fred Hart Williams Genealogical Society News published twice a year
Located in Wayne County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council

http://familytreemaker.genealogy.com/users/p/h/i/Bennie-L-Phifer-iii/

Lansing Area African American Genealogical Society
Post Office Box 22203
Lansing MI 48909-2203
Publication is Newsletter published quarterly
Member of Michigan Genealogical Council

CORNISH

Keweenaw Houghton Cornish Society of the Copper Country
Cornish Connection Of Lower Michigan
8494 Wesley Drive
Flushing 48433

DUTCH

Joint Archives of Holland, Hope College

FINNISH

Finnish American Heritage Center

FLEMISH

Genealogical Society of Flemish Americans
Facebook Page

FRENCH-CANADIAN (includes Acadian, Cajun and Metis)

French-Canadian Heritage Society of Michigan
Post Office Box 1900
Royal Oak MI 48068-1900
Publication is Michigan's Habitat Heritage published quarterly
Located in Oakland County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
Facebook Page/

IRISH

Irish Genealogical Society of Michigan
c/o Gaelic League/Irish American Club
2068 Michigan Avenue
Detroit MI 48216-1303
Publication is Irish Tree published nine times a year
Located in Wayne County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
Facebook Page

Wayne County Irish Society
31975 Cowan
Westland 48185

ITALIAN

Americans Of Italian Origin Society
18336 Lister E.
Detroit 48021

JEWISH

Jewish Genealogical Society of Michigan
PO Box 251693
West Bloomfield MI 48325-1693
Publication is Generations published quarterly
Located in Oakland County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council Facebook Page

POLISH

Polish Genealogical Society of Michigan
c/o Burton Collection
5201 Woodward Avenue
Detroit MI 48202-4007
Publication is The Polish Eaglet published three times a year
Located in Wayne County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
Facebook Page

Polish Heritage Society
P.O. Box 1844
Grand Rapids 49501

SCOTTISH

The St. Andrew's Society of Detroit
2360 Rochester Ct
Troy Mi 48083
Phone:(248) 526-1849
Fax:(248) 528-1477
Contact: kilgour@detroitscots.com

  • ANISHNAWBE (Chippewa / Ojibwe, Ottawa / Odawa, Potawatomi Indians)

RootsWeb NISHNAWBE Mailing List
Ottawa_Indians A starting point for doing Ottawa/Odawa Indian genealogy research
Nokomis Learning Center
Nokomis Learning Center Facebook Page

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 369-384. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clinton County, Michigan page 344, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 February 2016, at 15:51.
  • This page has been accessed 17,015 times.