Climping, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Clymping, Sussex)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Climping, Sussex
St Mary Climping West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Avisford
County Sussex
Poor Law Union East Preston PLU
Registration District Worthing
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1572
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arundel
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CLIMPING, aparish, in the union of East Preston (under Gilbert's act), hundred of Avisford, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 7 miles (S. S. W.) from Arundel.[1]

Climping St Mary (otherwise spelt  Clymping) is an Ancient Parish in the Arun district of West Sussex which includes Cudlow within the parish boundary.

A church history Climping St Mary

The parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Climping Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Climping wikipedia and List of places of worship in Arun

A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 635-639. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Climping, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
CLIMPING PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1572-1876 1572-1640, 1662-1878
PALL
1790-1837

PRTS 1710-1902
1719-1903
1678-1902
SOPC Undefined



Climping St Mary

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1710-1981 Marr 1719-1979 Bur 1678-1974

Bishop's Transcripts 1571-1984


Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Clymping

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474671.



Poor Law Unions

East Preston Poor Law Union, Sussex

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 635-639. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  5. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 June 2014, at 18:52.
  • This page has been accessed 1,643 times.