Coates, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Coates, Cambridgeshire)

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Cambridgeshire, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Coates, Cambridgeshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Witchford
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Whittlesey PLU
Registration District Whittlesey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1850
Bishop's Transcripts: 1855
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ely
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COATES, a chapelry in Whittlesey-St. Mary parish, Cambridge; adjacent to the Peterborough and Ely railway, 1½ mile NE of Eastrea railway station, and 3 E by N of Whittlesey. It was constituted in 1850; and it has a post office under Peterborough. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a national school.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers forCoates, 1850-1876 at the FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Coates, 1855-1858 at the FHL

Non Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Note that the film number is for Whittlesly as this parish was formed from this area.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241228.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Military

Courtesy of The Royal British Legion

Websites

Coates and Eastrea on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and WalesDate accessed and adapted: 01 July 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,449 times.