Cocke County, Tennessee GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Cocke County, Tennessee ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Cocke County, Tennessee|
Location in the state of Tennessee
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
|Founded:||October 9, 1797|
Cocke County Tennessee Quick Dates
Cocke County's civil records start the following years:
Cocke County Tennessee Courthouse
Cocke County Courthouse
111 Court Avenue
Newport, TN 37821
County Clerk has birth and death records 1909-1911and 1928-1930 and marriage records.
Clerk and Master has divorce and probate records from 1877.
Clerk Circuit Court has court records.
Register of Deeds has land records.
Stokely Memorial Library has a genealogical section. 
111 Court Ave.
Newport, Tennessee 37821
Cocke County Clerk
Birth and Death records 1909-1911 and 1928 - 1930
Cocke County Clerk and Master
360 East Main St.
Newport, TN 37821
Cocke County Register of Deeds
Cocke County Circuit Court Clerk
Mon.- Tues. and Thurs.- Fri. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Wed. 8 a.m.-noon
|Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness has found volunteers available to do lookups at this courthouse. Request guidelines.|
Cocke County Tennessee History
North Carolina first organized the land that would eventually become Cocke County as part of Washington District in 1776, then as part of Washington County in 1777, and then as part of Greene County in 1783.
In August 1784 delegates of three western North Carolina counties, Washington, Sullivan, and Greene (all now in Tennessee), declared their Independence from North Carolina because of perceived neglect, and misuse by North Carolina’s legislature. By May 1785 they had petitioned to be admitted to the United States as the new State of Franklin. The Franklin statehood request was denied.
In 1789 North Carolina ceded its westernmost counties to the United States which used them to form the Southwest Territory. North Carolina and the Southwest Territory did not recognize Franklin's claims. In 1792 the Southwest Territory using land from its Greene and Hawkins counties erected a new county named Jefferson County.
In 1796 all these lands became part of the new State of Tennessee. In 1797 Tennessee divided off most of the old Greene County portion of the newer Jefferson County to form the new Cocke County.
East Tennessee county in the Great Smoky Mountains region. Established 1797. From 1784 to 1788, this land was claimed by the abortive, short-lived State of Franklin.
For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Tennessee counties see: Tennessee Counties with Burned Courthouses
- Lost censuses: 1800, 1810, 1820, 1890
- Antebellum deed books are lost
- Pre-1876 wills were destroyed
- Pre-1877 marriages
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
Cocke County Tennessee Places / Localities
|Allen Grove||Cosby||Jaybird||Padgett Mill|
|Bailey Town||Del Rio||Jenkins Mill||Parrottsville|
|Blue Mill||Eastport||Lanceville||Point Pleasant|
|Boomer||Edwina||Liberty Hill||Raven Branch|
|Briar Thicket||English Creek||Licklog||Redwine|
|Brookside Mill||Fowler Grove||Long Creek||Sardis|
|Browns||French Broad||Maple Spring||Tom Town|
|Bruner Grove||Grassy Fork||Midway||Wasp|
|Bybee||Gum Spring||Newport||West End|
|Carson Springs||Harmony Grove||Northport||West Myers|
|Catons Grove||High Point||Oak Hill||Wilton Springs|
|Click Mill||Irish Cut||Ottinger|
Cocke County Tennessee Genealogy Resources
Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Cocke County biography, census, and tax records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Cocke County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
The Tennessee Cemeteries page provides explanations of the following online resources:
|Bibliographies||Online Gravestone Transcriptions||Cemetery Gazetteers|
|FamilySearch Catalog||Find A Grave | national search | county list||ePodunk|
|WorldCat||TNGenWeb Cemetery Database|
|USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project|
|Cocke Co., TNGenWeb Project|
Published Cocke County cemetery records:
|Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.|
1810 - 1891
1800 - 1820 Lost
- 1800 Lost, statistics reported with Jefferson County 1810 - Lost, but a substitute is available: *Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1810.
- 1820 Lost 1820 Manufactures The original manufactures schedules for the Eastern and Western Districts of Tennessee are kept at the National Archives, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1024517-1024518. The following book is a useful aid for finding the original records. A free online index, provided by Lineages, will help researchers determine if this resource can be of assistance: *National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2m 1820; indexed at Lineages. [Covers this county.] These records have also been abstracted: *1820 Census of Manufactures: Cocke County, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 5, No. 4 ():180. For availability, see Periodicals.
- Fox, George and Juanita Fox. Cocke County, Tennessee Early Lists: 1839 Tax List, 1830-1840 Federal Census. n.p.: G. and J. Fox, 2009. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8895 X2g. *Sistler, Byron H. 1830 Census, East Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: n.p., 1969. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2p 1830.
- Fox, George and Juanita Fox. Cocke County, Tennessee Early Lists: 1839 Tax List, 1830-1840 Federal Census. n.p.: G. and J. Fox, 2009. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8895 X2g. 1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners *A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. [See Tennessee, Eastern District, Cocke County on page 152.]
- Templin, David H. and Cherel Bolin Henderson. Population Schedule of the United States Census of 1850 for Cocke County, Tennessee. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1983. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8895 X2t 1850.
- Bishop, Brenda C. 1860 Census of Cocke County, Tennessee. n.p.: B.C. Bishop, 1986. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8895 X2b. *Templin, David H. and Cherel Bolin Henderson. Population Schedule of the United States Census of 1860 for Cocke County, Tennessee. Maryville, Tenn.: n.p., 1983. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8895 X2t 1860.
- Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. 1880 Census, Cocke County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler & Associates, 1996. FHL US/CAN Census Area 976.8895 X2s 1880.
Male Voters 1891
Church records can include birth/baptism, marriage, and death/burial information. Traditionally, Tennessee churches did not keep as much vital record information as found in other regions. For the existing records, some original church records are still at the local church. Others are gathered into a church archives or state archives or deposited with a local historical or genealogical society. For more information about church records see Tennessee Church Records and the United States Church Records\United States Church Records.
The following church records for Cocke County are filmed:
The following church records are abstracted or indexed:
- [1812-1876] Minutes, Slate Creek Baptist Church Nashville: TSLA, Historical Records Project, 1939. Typescript. Available at TSLA FHL 24622
- [1812-1876] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s vol.1 Index to original records.
- [1838-1860] Minutes, Pleasant Grove Baptist Church Nashville: TSLA, Historical Records Project, 1939. Typescript. Available at TSLA FHL 24622
- [1841-1872] Minutes, East Tennessee Association of Baptists Nashville: TSLA, Historical Records Project, 1939. Typescript. Available at TSLA FHL 24622
More than 10 genealogies have been published about Cocke County, Tennessee Genealogy families. To view a list, visit Cocke County, Tennessee Genealogy Genealogy.
Gordon Aronhime (1911-1983) collected information on hundreds of Southwest Virginia and East Tennessee pioneers. His note cards, which reference more than 4,000 early settlers of the Holston-Clinch River area and East Tennessee (1770s-1790s), are held at the Library of Virginia. The cards have been digitized and made available online.
During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding 2 British aliens living in Cocke County.
Cocke County's early deed books were destroyed in the Civil War. TSLA microfilmed surviving Deed Books 1 to 20 (1865-1867, 1872-1902), General Index to Deeds (1872-1902), Trust Deed Books 1 to 3 and 10 (1877-1889, 1899-1902) and Trust Deed Index (1877-1902). FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 956189-956203.
Law and Legislation
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records. Bruce Price's "Cocke County, Tennessee Acts of Tennessee Index," which isolates the entries specifically for this county, is available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.
- Maps of Tennessee (1777-1985)
-  Creekmore, Pollyanna. Early East Tennessee Taxpayers. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1980. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp and Silas Emmett Lucas's Revised Index FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp index. [Includes 1832 map of the county.]
-  U.S. Geological Survey. Proposed Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Originally published 1926. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.
-  U.S. Park Service. Preliminary Base Map, Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Originally published 1934. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.
- Old Cocke County Fort, Smoky Mountain Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 3, No. 2 (May 1977). For access, see Periodicals.
The following Cocke County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:
Additional resources include:
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. [See Tennessee, Eastern District, Cocke County on page 152.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry ($). Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War, courtesy: TNGenWeb. [Includes veterans from this county; Tennessee section begins on page 381.]
- Revolutionary War Veterans, Smoky Mountain Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 13, No. 2 (Summer 1987). For access, see Periodicals.
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 7, No. 2 (Apr. 1960):40-45. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 7 (1960); digital version at journal website. [Includes Cocke County pensioners (p. 41)]
The following Cocke County War of 1812 records are available online through TNGenWeb:
- Captain James Cumings' Company of Volunteer Mounted Gun Men, East Tennessee Militia, War of 1812
- Captain William Gillenwaters Company of Volunteers, East Tennessee Mmilitia, War of 1812
- Captain George Argenbright's Company of Volunteer Riflemen in the East Tennessee Militia, War of 1812
Civil War service men from Cocke County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Cocke County.
- 5th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (McKenzie's) - CSA
- 26th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (3rd East Tennessee Volunteers) - CSA - Company C.
- 60th Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry (Crawford's) (79th Infantry) - CSA - Company I.
- 62nd Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry (Rowan's) (80th Infantry) - CSA
- 1st Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - Companies D, E, F and G.
- 4th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - Company A.
- 8th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - Company D.
- 9th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - Company L.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Cocke County:
- TNGenWeb, Cocke County Military Records, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Includes links to Civil War Units formed in Cocke County, 9th Tennessee Cavalry Regiment, USA Company "F", 60th Tennessee Mounted Infantry, CSA - Company "I", 62nd Tennessee Infantry Regiment, CSA - Company "I" and Civil War Claims Index 1871 - 1873.
- USGenWeb Archives, Cocke County, Tennessee Archives, Civil War Records, (accessed 30 Jan 2012).
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications : Cocke County, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883), (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Online at Internet Archive. Cocke County, page 326-327.
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Cocke County click on the following city:
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Cocke County, Tennessee Genealogy records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
- East Tennessee Roots
- Several genealogical articles with abstracts of Cocke County, Tennessee Genealogy records have been published in East Tennessee Roots (10 vols.). A subject index to these articles is available online. Surname indexes to Volumes 9 and 10 are also available online. The Family History Library has collected most issues of East Tennessee Roots FHL Book 976.8 D25e.
- Smoky Mountain Historical Society Newsletter
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Cocke County, Tennessee records were published in the Smoky Mountain Historical Society Newsletter (33 vols., 1977-2007), the journal of the Smoky Mountain Historical Society. Tables of contents for most issues are available online. Back issues are available for purchase. The Family History Library has acquired a complete collection FHL US/CAN Book 976.889 B2s, as well as Journal Contents and Index of Names: 1977 thru 1996 FHL US/CAN Book 976.889 B2s index. Indexed in the PERiodical Source Index (PERSI).
Learn if your Cocke County, Tennessee Genealogy ancestors went to prison!
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850, free index available online through TSLA.
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870, free index available online through TSLA.
FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:
- Wills, 1876-1913
- Insolvent estate records, 1879-1920
- Inventories, 1875-1922
- Minutes, 1877-1898 (15 vols.)
FamilySearch has scanned and made avaiable the following records:
The following Cocke County tax records have been abstracted:
-  Unpaid Taxes -- 1803 (Blount, Cocke, Sevier Cos.), Smoky Mountain Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 10, No. 3 (1984). For FHL access, or to purchase back issues, see Periodicals; digital version by Duay O'Neil, at Sevier County, Tennessee, Genealogy & History. [Abstract of The Knoxville Gazette, Aug. 8, 1803.]
-  "Direct Federal Tax-Delinquent Property Owners Listed for 1814," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 3(Fall 1996):115-120. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals. [Includes Cocke County.]
-  "U.S. Holds 1817 Public Sale of Federal Tax-Delinquent Properties in Tennessee," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 2 (Summer 1996):63-68. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals. [Includes Cocke County.]
- [1821, 1827] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Early Tennessee Tax Lists. Evanston, Ill.: B. & B. Sistler, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4s. [Includes 1821 and 1827 tax lists.]
-  Douthat, James L. Cocke County, Tennessee, 1836 Tennessee, Civil Districts and Tax Lists. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1993. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8895 R4d; online: free surname index and purchase details.
-  Taxpayers, 1839, East Tennessee Historical Society Publications. Knoxville TN: 1965. Vol. - Iss. 37.
-  Creekmore, Pollyanna. Early East Tennessee Taxpayers. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1980. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp and Silas Emmett Lucas's Revised Index FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4cp index. [Includes 1839 tax list.]
-  Fox, George and Juanita Fox. Cocke County, Tennessee Early Lists: 1839 Tax List, 1830-1840 Federal Census. n.p.: G. and J. Fox, 2009. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8895 X2g.
-  Price, Bruce. "Cocke County, Tennessee 1839 Tax List, All Districts," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.
-  Release from Delinquent Taxes, 1883, Tennessee Ancestors. Knoxville TN: Apr 2001. Vol. 17 Iss. 1.
-  Price, Bruce. "Cocke County, Tennessee 1889 Tax List, Dist 12," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb. [Source: Cocke Co., TN Tax Books 1889-1890 , TSLA Microfilm #38.]
-  Price, Bruce. "Cocke County, Tennessee 1890 Tax List, Dist 12," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb. [Source: Cocke Co., TN Tax Books 1889-1890 , TSLA Microfilm #38.]
-  Price, Bruce. "Cocke County, Tennessee 1891 Tax List, Dist 12," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb. [Source: Cocke Co., TN Tax Books 1889-1890 , TSLA Microfilm #38.]
-  Price, Bruce. "Cocke County, Tennessee 1892 Tax List, Dist 12," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb. [Source: Cocke Co., TN Tax Books 1889-1890 , TSLA Microfilm #38.]
-  Price, Bruce. "Cocke County, Tennessee 1893 Tax List, Dist 12," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb. [Source: Cocke Co., TN Tax Books 1889-1890 , TSLA Microfilm #38.]
-  Price, Bruce. "Cocke County, Tennessee 1894 Tax List, Dist 12," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb. [Source: Cocke Co., TN Tax Books 1889-1890 , TSLA Microfilm #38.]
- 1877-1895 - Cocke County Marriage Index 1877-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
For deaths of Methodists in Cocke County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:
- Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. [Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.]
Cocke County Tennessee Genealogy Societies and Libraries
The Smoky Mountain Historical Society
P.O. Box 5078
Sevierville, TN 37864-5078
East Tennessee Historical Society
601 S. Gay Street
P.O. Box 1629
Knoxville, Tennessee 37901-1629
Stokely Memorial Library
383 East Broadway
Newport, TN 37821
Genealogical Resources: Newspapers, census, vital records, deeds, court records, funeral home records, land, church, tax lists, historical books, cemetery records and more. To see a list of microfilmed material click here.
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Cocke County Tennessee Genealogy Websites
- Cocke County, TN History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Tennessee Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Tennessee Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Cocke County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Cocke County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Cocke County, TN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Cocke County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- FamilySearch Catalog (FamilySearch)
- Smoky Mountain Ancestral Quest Compiled Genealogies of Local Families
Various RootsWeb Mailing Lists include messages about Cocke County genealogy. Local expert Joyce Gaston Reece states, at present, the following lists "carry the communications for Cocke" (7/15/2010):
- TNCOCKE-L (Cocke County, Tennessee List)
- SE-TN-L (Southeast Tennessee List)
- NE-TN-L (Northeast Tennessee List)
- TENNESSEE-L (State of Tennessee List)
Additional lists, that receive less traffic are:
- RootsWeb Mailing List: ETN-L (East Tennessee List)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: ETN-OZ-L (East Tennessee Migrants to Ozarks Region List)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: FRANKLIN-STATE-L (State of Franklin 1784-1788 List)
Cocke County Tennessee Genealogy References
- ↑ "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cocke County, Tennessee page 639, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "List of Counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- ↑ “State of Franklin” in North Carolina History Project at http://www.northcarolinahistory.org/encyclopedia/99/entry (accessed 27 June 2010).
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Publ., 2002), 639, 641.
- ↑ Robert M. McBride, "Lost Counties of Tennessee," East Tennessee Historical Society's Publications 38 (1966): 4.
- ↑ Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ Voice of Louise Lynch, Archivist, Williamson County, Tennessee Archives (2010).
- ↑ Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State (accessed 31 March 2014).
- ↑ Mary Barnett Curtis, Early East Tennessee Tax Lists: a compiled list of residents of the area covered in 22 east Tennessee counties for which there is (sic) no census records prior to 1830 (Fort Worth, Texas: Arrow Printing, 1964), FHL Book 976.8 R4c.
- ↑ "Original Virginia Records Imaged and Indexed Online," Arlene Eakle's Virginia Genealogy Blog, 12 October 2008.
- ↑ Kenneth Scott. British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979, 372-378 (see East Tennessee). FHL US/CAN 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
- ↑ The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/6/60/Igitennesseea.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 8 April 2015, at 20:43.
- This page has been accessed 57,059 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More