Cocking, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Cocking, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Midhurst|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1558|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
COCKING, a parish, in the union of Midhurst, hundred of Easebourne, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 2½ miles (S.) from Midhurst.
Cocking is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex three miles south of Midhurst and includes Cocking Hill and Cocking Causeway.
The Bishop's Transcripts contain no dedicatory name and the Parish magazine adopts the dedicatory name St Catherine of Siena for the modern parish of Cocking with West Lavington. This is not reflected in the parish legal name Cocking Parish suggesting a recent modern dedication.
See also Cocking Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Cocking, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|COCKING PARISH Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Cocking
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 647-654. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
- ↑ Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
- ↑ Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
- ↑ 'Sussex Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.
- This page was last modified on 11 January 2016, at 19:50.
- This page has been accessed 3,932 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News