Colchester All Saints, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Colchester All Saints, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Colchester All Saints, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Colchester All Saints, Essex
Former All Saints Colchester Essex.jpg
Former All Saints Colchester Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Colchester Borough
County Essex
Poor Law Union Colchester PLU
Registration District Colchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1609
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Colchester
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COLCHESTER, is a borough and a market town, it has a separate jurisdiction, and is the head of a union; it is locally in the Colchester division of the hundred of Lexden, and N. division of Essex.It contains the parishes of Bere-Church, Greenstead, Lexden, and Mile-End. Colchester is situated on the river Colne.[1]

The parish of All Saints, is an edifice of the 14th century. The other parishes in the town are: St. Giles, St. James, St. Leonard, St. Martin,St. Mary-at-the-Walls, St. Mary Magdalene, St. Nicholas, St. Runwald, Holy Trinity, St. Peter, St. Botolph, and St. John. The places of worship within the borough, in 1851, were Church of England, Independents (1863), Baptists, Quakers (1076), Wesleyan Methodists, Primitive Methodists, the New Church, Latter Day Saints, and Roman Catholics.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Colchester All Saints, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors[4]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
Colchester All Saints, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1609-1754
ESSEX 1609-1953 1609-1953 1609-1812
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
NBI 1682-1881

Colchester Mile End St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Colchester Mile End St Michael Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1671-1953 1674-1957 1668-1957
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241380.


Genealogy

Knight, Gordon: The Beail Family. History and family tree of Benjamin Beail and Harriet surname unknown, dating from 1831-1956, family is listed in the following places. Essex, Colchester, Leicestershire, Thurmaston, Sfk, Felixstowe, Milfield, Walton, and Wickham Market. In the family tree other names listed are Larkin, Smith, Davis, Durrant, Keeble and Brett. Article in Roots and Branches, Journal of the Felixstowe Family History Soc. vol. 7, no.3. pages 12-15, FHL 942.64/F5 D25r

Poor Law Unions

Colchester Poor Law Union,Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Colchester on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: Date Accessed 14 May 2013
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England (1870-72) Adapted: Date Accessed 14 May 2013
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  4. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  5. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 March 2015, at 21:44.
  • This page has been accessed 3,876 times.