Cold Norton, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Cold Norton, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Cold Norton

Guide to Cold Norton, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cold Norton, Essex
St Stephens Church, Cold Norton, Essex .jpg
St Stephens Church, Cold Norton, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ongar
County Essex
Poor Law Union Maldon PLU
Registration District Maldon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Maldon
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Cold Norton, is a parish in Maldon district, Essex; it is 5 miles S of Maldon railway station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Cold Norton, Essex Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1539
1539
1539
Images 1539-1949 EssexAncestors[2] 1539-1957 EssexAncestors[2] 1539-1992 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes 1539-1810 FamilySearch[3] 1539-1838 FamilySearch[4] 1771-1992 findmypast[5]
1541-1752 findmypast[6]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241366.

Poor Law Unions

Maldon Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (London and Edinburgh, 1870) Adapted: Date Accessed 17 May 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 16 April 2012.
  3. Batch C041911, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  4. Batch M041911, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  6. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, (WayBack Machine) accessed 3 March 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:49.
  • This page has been accessed 2,362 times.