Cole Orton, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Cole Orton, Leicestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Cole Orton, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cole Orton, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Ashby de la Zouch PLU
Registration District Ashby de la Zouch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1611
Bishop's Transcripts: 1574
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Akeley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COLE-ORTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Ashby-de-la-Zouch, hundred of West Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 2 miles (E.) from Ashby. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cole Orton, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Cole Orton, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1611-1909
1611-1909
1611-1909

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438744.


Poor Law Unions

Ashby de la Zouch Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 659-663. Date accessed: 06 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,162 times.