Colebrooke, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Colebrooke, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Crediton|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1610|
|Probate Court||A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
COLEBROKE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Crediton, Crediton and N. divisions of Devon, 4½ miles (W.) from Crediton, on the road to Oakhampton. The hamlet of Coplestone, in the parish, formerly had a chapel, and, according to some, a mint and prison. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241308.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Colebrooke on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 30 October 2015, at 00:13.
- This page has been accessed 2,512 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News