Columbia County, FloridaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  Florida  go to  Columbia County

Guide to Columbia County Florida genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Florida
Online Records


Columbia County, Florida
Map
Map of Florida highlighting Columbia County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 4, 1832
County Seat Lake City
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Columbia County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Columbia County Courthouse
145 N Hernando St; PO Box 2069
Lake City, FL 32055
Phone: 386.758.1041

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records from 1943,
marriage and land records from 1875,
divorce and court recordsc from 1892
and probate records from 1895; Public
Health Unit has birth, death and burial records[1]

History

Parent County

1832--Columbia County was created 4 February 1832 from Alachua County.
County seat: Lake City [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1860, 1867, and 1874 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Florida counties see: Florida Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

African American

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Columbia County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Lake City

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Florida Territorial Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Columbia County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps

Flcolumbia.png

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Columbia County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

  • Florida Obituaries  -  Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties -  USGenWeb Obituaries Project

Probate

Probate records are held by the Columbia County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Columbia County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

Marriage
  • 1874-1885 - Columbia County Marriage Books A thru C, 3 Index 1874-1885. Batch M513011 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1885-1893 - Columbia County Marriage Books D, 2 Index 1885-1893. Batch M736796 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1886 - Columbia County Marriage Books A thru C, 3 Index 1886. Batch M743124 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1893-1899 - Columbia County Marriage Book E Index 1893-1899. Batch M737504 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1904-1913 - Columbia County Marriage Book F Index 1904-1913. Batch M737506 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1913-1929 - Columbia County Marriage Books G and H Index 1913-1929. Batch M737495 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Voters Registration

   1845 voters registration list for Columbia County.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Columbia County, Florida. Page 133 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/54/Igiflorida.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 March 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 6,346 times.