Colusa County, California GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Colusa County, California)

United States go toCaliforniago to Colusa County

Guide to Colusa County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Colusa County, California
Map of California highlighting Colusa County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Founded February 18, 1850
County Seat Colusa
Address Colusa County Courthouse
546 Jay St;
Colusa, CA 95932-2443;
Phone. 530.458.0500 
Colusa County Website


County Information

Colusa County, California Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1873 1853 1889 1850 1853 1853

County Courthouse

Colusa County has birth records 1873, marriage records from 1853, death records from 1889, probate, court, land and assessment rolls from 1851, Great Registers from 1866 and military rolls from 1879


Historical Facts

Wikipedia has more about this subject: Colusa County, California

Parent County

18 February 1850: Colusa County was created as an original county.  County seat: Colusa [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses


Populated Places


College City, Colusa (County Seat)


Fouls Springs





Sites, Stonyford, Sycamore

Williams, Wilbur Springs

Neighboring Counties


Bible Records




For tips on accessing Colusa County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Crime and Criminals


Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups




Local histories are available for Colusa County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.




Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Colusa County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:



Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Colusa - Probate records.

Online Probate Records


Archives, Libraries and Museums

Colusa County Library
738 Market Stret
Colusa, CA 95932
530 458-7671

Colusa County Historical Society
Colusa County Historical Records Commission
c/o Colusa County Library
738 Market Street
Colusa, CA 95932
Phone: (530) 458-7671
The county commission oversees preservation and conservation of county records of historical importance and the county records archives.

County Courthouse

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records



For marriages from 1853-1872
Western States Marriage Index.



Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Colusa County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 973
Williams 95987

Colusa County Historical Society
P.O. Box 643
Willows 95988

Web Sites


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 62-75. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2015, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 14,838 times.