Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation, WashingtonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Washington Gotoarrow.png Indians of Washington Gotoarrow.png Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation, Washington

Guide to Yakama Indian ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Yakama warrior 1913 by Lucullus V. Mc Whorter 2.jpg

The former name for this federally-recognized group was the Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Indian Nation of the Yakama Reservation.


Tribal Headquarters

Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation
P. O. Box 151
Toppenish, WA 9894
Phone: 1.509.865.5121
Fax: 1.509.865.5528


Brief Timeline


These tribes are primarily associated with the Yakima Reservation in Washington.

Tribes That Are Part of the Confederated Tribes of the Yakama Nation of Washington

The following tribes and bands were included in the 1855 Yakama Treaty and were later confederated as the Yakama Nation -- Yakama, Palouse, Pisquouse, Wenatshapam, Klikatat, Klinquit, Kow-was-say-ee, Li-ay-was, Skin-pah, Wish-ham, Shyiks, Ochechotes, Kah-milt-pay, and Se-ap-cat.


The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:


1855 Treaty with 14 Tribes and Bands later confederated as the Yakama Nation.

Important Web Sites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.



Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 August 2015, at 17:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,630 times.