Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla ReservationEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Washington Gotoarrow.png Indians of Oregon Gotoarrow.png Indians of Washington Gotoarrow.png Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Reservation

Guide to Umatilla, Walla Walla, and Cayuse Indian ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Umatilla -Rattlesnake Pete from Umatilla Indian Reservation - Oregon.jpg

Contents

Tribal Headquarters

Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation
46411 Timine Way
Pendleton, Oregon 97801

Phone: 1-541- 276-3165
FAX: 1-541- 276-3095

History

Brief Timeline

Reservations

These tribes are primarily associated with the Umatilla Reservation in Oregon.

Tribes on the Reservation

The Confederation consists of three tribes -- the Cayuse, Umatilla, and Walla Walla.

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Important Web Sites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 August 2015, at 21:56.
  • This page has been accessed 2,393 times.