Consolidated Ute Indian Agency (Colorado)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Colorado Gotoarrow.png Indians of Colorado Gotoarrow.png Consolidated Ute Indian Agency (Colorado) Guide to Consolidated Ute Indian Agency (Colorado) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Contents

Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency

Ute

History

The Consolidated Ute Agency was established in 1922 by the merging of the Southern Ute Agency and the Ute Mountain Agency. They were subsequently made independent and the two agencies now operate separately[1].

Records

Agencies and subagencies were created as administrative offices of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and its predecessors. Their purpose was (and is) to manage Indian affairs with the tribes, to enforce policies, and to assist in maintaining the peace. The names and location of these agencies may have changed, but their purpose remained basically the same. Many of the records of genealogical value (for the tribe and tribal members) were created by and maintained by the agencies.

A few financial records and correspondence of the Consolidated Ute Agency, 1933-1970, are in the Rocky Mountain Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in Denver.[2]

Microfilm copies of ...Narrative and Statistical Reports... for the Consolidated Ute Agency, 1923-1935, are included in National Archives Microcopy M1011, roll 33[3], available in the National Archives system and in the collections of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City (their microfilm number 1724247).

Annual Indian Census Rolls were taken at this agency for 1923-1924 and 1926 thru 1939. These rolls have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M595, rolls 77-78.[4] Copies of these records are also available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm numbers 575769-575770). These census rolls are also available online at Ancestry.com's subscription web site.

Additional Records Available through the Family History Library

School Records 1887-1949. FHL film 1275618 items 11-12 and 1275619 item 1-4

References

  1. Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981, pp. 184-185.
  2. Guide to Federal Records, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Record Group 75. Available online.
  3. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M1011, p. 27.
  4. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy 595, p. 51
  • American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
  • Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
  • Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
  • Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
  • Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services.
  • "Accompanying Pamphlet for Microcopy 1011", National Archives Microfilm Publications, Appendix.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 March 2015, at 17:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,566 times.