Converse County, WyomingEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Converse County Wyoming genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Converse County, Wyoming|
Location in the state of Wyoming
Location of Wyoming in the U.S.
|Founded||March 9, 1888|
|Address|| Converse County Courthouse|
107 N 5th Street
PO Box 990
Douglas, WY 82633
Converse County Website
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
- Parent County: created 9 March 1888 from Laramie and Albany counties
- County Seat: Douglas 
- Neighboring Counties: Albany | Campbell | Carbon | Johnson | Natrona | Niobrara | Platte Weston
For tips on accessing Converse County, Wyoming census records online, see: Wyoming Census.
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wyoming denominations, view the Wyoming Church Records wiki page.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Converse County, Wyoming. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Wyoming Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Wyoming Land and Property for additional information about early Wyoming land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Early migration routes to and from Converse County, Wyoming for European and African American settlers included:
- Platte River
- Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah
- Bozeman Trail 1863 from Fort Fetterman near Douglas, Wyoming to Virginia City, Montana
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Converse County, Wyoming newspapers in online catalogs like:
In most counties in Wyoming, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Wyoming- Albany - Probate records.
County Courthouse Converse County
County Clerk has marriage, land, military discharge and tax records from 1888 and poll records from 1930; Clerk Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1888
Family History Centers
Wyoming tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.
|Bill||Douglas||Lost Springs||Rolling Hills|
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map III" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap3.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "Bozeman Trail" in Legends of America at http://www.legendsofamerica.com/na-armyindianwars3.html (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 766. Converse County, Wyoming
- This page was last modified on 4 March 2014, at 03:21.
- This page has been accessed 5,508 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More