Cornwall GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to Cornwall Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
IntroductionEngland and is located at the tip of the south-western peninsula of Great Britain. It is also one of the Celtic nations.
The area was first inhabited by Neolithic and then Bronze Age peoples, and later, in the Iron Age, by Celtic peoples. Cornwall is a part of the Brythonic area of Britain and became detached from Wales after the Battle of Deorham, becoming a separate Celtic nation. It often came into conflict with the expanding Saxon kingdom of Wessex, to its east, before King Athelstan of Wessex (924-939) set the boundary between England and Cornwall at the River Tamar.
It is unclear when Cornwall was absorbed into England, although the Cornish language continued to be spoken until the 18th century.
Cornwall today has a population of 526,300, covering an area of 1,376 square miles (3,563 km²). The administrative centre is the city of Truro.
In the 2001 UK census, people were requested to give their ethnic grouping and were able to choose Cornish. However, the UK government announced that this option would not be available in the 2011 census.
The Cornwall Parishes page list the parishes in Cornwall. Most records are categorized by parish, which makes it essential for researchers to determine the correct parish(es). However, our ancestors did not diligently observe parish boundaries; be sure to check surrounding parishes for records if your search does not produce the expected results.
The pages for each parish found on the GENUKI website are outstanding, very detailed, and current. They are an absolute must for anyone doing Cornish research.
Browse by Topic: All pages for Cornwall
For an 1870's gazetteer description of Cornwall, go online to Vision of Britain.
- List of Cornwall Parishes
The Cornwall Online Parish Clerk Project found at cornwall-opc.org is a resource of volunteers willing to help researchers by email, free of charge. Most of Cornwall's parishes now have an Online Parish Clerk. Transcribed information from many parishes can be searched at the Cornwall OPC Database website. The transcriptions in the OPC database can to a large extent be used as an index to find most of the unindexed parish register images on Familysearch.org. The OPC database is searchable and after finding the date of an event, by using the waypoints on the FS records collection, the image can easily be found.
Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Cornwall.
When civil (government) registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Cornwall was divided into registration districts, each containing several parishes. To see a list of Cornwall registration districts and the parishes they contained, click here.
Previous to the establishment of Registration Districts, Cornwall was divided into Hundreds, and many records refer to that structure even today. The Hundreds were East, Kerrier, Lesnewth, Penwith, Powder, Pydar, Trigg, and West. It benefits researchers to know in which Hundred the parish in which they're interested resided.
To see a list of Cornwall parishes and the pre-1858 ecclesiastical courts that had probate jurisdiction over them, see the article on Cornwall Probate Records.
- Cornwall Resources and help pages on RootsChat Cornwall Resources and help pages. (Free).
- Cornish genealogy database
- Cornish Family History
- Cornwall On-line Parish Clerks
- Cornwall On-line Parish Clerks parish register database
- The Cornwall Online Census Project
- Cornwall GenWeb Surname Registry List of Surnames and location in Cornwall where found.
- Kelly's 1873 Directory
- Cornwall Family History Society
- Burials in Cornwall
- Cornish Genealogy Index with records
- Cornwall Genealogy records
- GenUKI Cornwall
- Cornish Parish Map
- Historic newspaper transcriptions
- Looking 4 Kin Genealogy & Family History Network - Cornwall
Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Cornwall Genealogy
|Celtic Sea||Celtic Sea||Devon|
|Celtic Sea||English Channel||English Channel|
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 17:31.
- This page has been accessed 159,548 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News