Corsenside, Northumberland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Corsenside, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Bellingham|
|Parish registers: 1715|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1762|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northumberland Record Office|
CORSENSIDE, a parish, in the union of Bellingham, N. E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 17 miles (N. by W.) from Hexham; The parish contains the beautifulhamlet of West Woodburn, and that of East Woodburn.
Corsenside parish was created in 1728 from Alwinton with Holystone Ancient Parish and includes: Chesterhope, East Woodburn, Linhead, Lisleburn, and West Woodburn.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Corsenside, Northumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS PRs = FamilySearch Parish Registers - free|
|Corsenside, Northumberland Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/61 1762-1877Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. Corsenside, St Cuthbert: Records of baptisms 1715-1959, marriages 1738-1978 and burials 1726-1993 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1713-1875 and marriages 1719-1876 for this parish, but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages 1715-1843 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Corsenside (microfiche TN81) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438894.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 19 January 2016, at 17:53.
- This page has been accessed 1,984 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News