Cortina Indian Rancheria (California)Edit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Wintun Indian ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.
Cortina Indian Rancheria of Wintun Indians
570 6th Street, Suite F.
Williams, CA 95987
The Cortina Rancheria is a federally-recognized rancheria located about 70 miles northwest of Sacramento in Colusa County, California.
- Established -- June 25, 1907
- Agency (BIA) -- Central California Agency
- Principal tribes -- Wintun
- Population -- about 79
- Tribal enrollment -- 117
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Health records
- School census and records
- Vital records
Tribe land 640 acres, the land is tribally-owned 
For Further Reading
For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.
- ↑ Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2
- This page was last modified on 6 August 2015, at 14:27.
- This page has been accessed 1,685 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News