Coryell County, Texas GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Coryell County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
P.O. Box 237
P.O. Box 4
Phone: 254-865-5911254-865-5911 ext. 291
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
- Copperas Cove
- Fort Hood
Arnett | Ater | Bee House (Boyd's Cove) | Cavitt | Copperas Cove | Coryell City (Rainey's Creek) | Evant (Langford Cove - part in Hamilton County)| Flat | Fort Gates | Fort Hood | Gatesville | Ireland | Jonesboro (part in Hamilton County) | King | Leon Junction | Levita | Mound | Mountain | Oglesby | Osage | Pancake | Pearl | Pidcoke | Purmela | South Mountain | South Purmelia | The Grove | Topsey | Turnersville | Whitson
Henson's Creek | Spring Hill | Station Creek | Turnover | Lincolnville
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
- Court Dockets 1861, 1868-1870 from the Coryell County TXGenWeb site
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Naturalization and Citizenship
- 1906 - 1989 Texas, Naturalization Records, 1906-1989 — index and images
Local histories are available for Coryell County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- History of Coryell County, 1965 by Zelma Scott.
- Coryell County, Texas, Families, 1854–1985, published 1986, by the Coryell County Genealogical Society.
- Copperas Cove, City of Five Hills: A Centennial History, 1980, by Jerry K. Smith and Patrick D. McLaughlin.
- Gatesville 1884 Panoramic Map from the Amon Carter Museum.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
- 1838 - 1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1845 - 1848 US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
Fort Gates, originally Camp Gates, established in 1849 to protect the settlers.
Coryell County Soldiers from the Coryell County TXGenWeb site.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Coryell County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Coryell County Births 1926-1934
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
- Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Coryell County Marriages 1932-1977 performed by Bro. Dick Derrick
- Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 - FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903
- First Book of Death Records 1903-1909 from the Coryell County TXGenWeb site.
- Coryell County Deaths 1903-1917
- Earliest Funeral Home Records 1926-1931 from the Coryell County TXGenWeb site.
- Funeral Home Records 1932-1936 from the Coryell County TXGenWeb site.
- Coryell County Deaths 1964-1984
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Deaths and Burials 1903 - 1973 (index) - FamilySearch
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries
Central Texas Genealogical Society, Inc.
c/o Waco-McLennan County Library
1717 Austin Avenue
Waco, Texas 76701
Coryell County Genealogical Society
811 Main Street
Gatesville Public Librarybr>111 N 8th St
Gatesville, TX 76528-1461
Coryell County Genealogy Society
Gatesville Public Library
111 N 8th Street
Gatesville, TX 76528
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Coryell County TXGenWeb site
- Linkpendium - Coryell County website links
- Coryell County, Texas Old Photos
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coryell County, Texas. Page 661 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 29 January 2016, at 22:36.
- This page has been accessed 19,767 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News