Coston, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Coston, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Melton Mowbray PLU|
|Registration District||Melton Mowbray|
|Parish registers: 1561|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1578|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
COSTON (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Melton-Mowbray, hundred of Framland, N. division of the county of Leicester, 3½ miles (S. E.) from Waltham. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester: Coston Bap 1561 - 1997 Marr 1561 - 1974 (Banns to1998) Bur 1561 - 1997
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438740.
Genealogy From Periodicals
Martin, Shirley. The Martin Family. History and descendants of William Martin who married (1)Jane Frisby, 29 March 1725 and (2) Elisabeth Broughton, 1743 at Oundle Parish, Northants, with their children being baptised there. Descendants appear to move to Tansor, Northamptonshire, Coston, and Warmington, Notts, Selston. Surnames listed: Broughton, Thorrow, Pentiloe, Pywell, Chambers, Bailey, Ellis, Tall, Sheffield, Brudenell, Bloodworth, Sanderson, Hight and Housden. Article dated 1725-1975, and is found in Footprints, vol.6.no.3. pages77-78. Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo vol. 6.no.3.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 30 March 2015, at 17:12.
- This page has been accessed 1,642 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More