Coundon, DurhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Contents


Coundon Co Durham St James.jpg
Parish History

COUNDON, a township, in the parish of St. Andrew Auckland, union of Auckland, N. W. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham.[1]

Additional information: Coundon St James was created in 1842 from chapelry in Auckland St Andrew, Durham Ancient Parish and includes: Windlestone and Westerton. The church was rebuilt in 1872 on a new site set further back from the road, and on a much grander in scale, the accommodation being increased to 530 seats. Again dedicated to St. James, it was designed by the leading architect Ewan Christian, and is an imposing stone building in the Early English style with lancet windows, large and with an apsidal east end Instead of being served by a perpetual curate, it now had its own vicar. Chapels were also built for the Wesleyan Methodists, Primitive Methodists and New Connexions.

Coundon, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Auckland PLU
Registration District Auckland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1842
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/63 Date: 1842-1845  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Auckland St. Andrew are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL:-

  • Auckland, St. Luke 1882-1966 (EP/Au.SA).
  • Auckland, St. Peter 1875-1931 (EP/Au.SP).
  • Byers Green 1845-1968 (EP/BG).
  • Binchester 1877-1959 (EP/BG & EP/Bin).
  • Newfield 1900-1956 (EP/BG).
  • Coundon, St. James 1842-1971 (EP/Cou).
  • Windlestone 1908-1929 (EP/Cou).
  • Eldon, St. Mark 1877-1982 (EP/El).
  • Auckland, St. Philip 1881-1952 (EP/Au.SA & EP/Au.SPh).
  • Hunwick, St. Paul 1846-1922 (EP/Hu).
  • New Shildon 1868-1953 (EP/NSh).
  • Newton Cap 1904-1970 (EP/NC).
Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241352.

Poor Law Unions

Auckland Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 700-702. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 December 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 18:58.
  • This page has been accessed 741 times.