County Donegal GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from County Donegal)

United Kingdom Gotoarrow.png Ireland Gotoarrow.png Northern Ireland Gotoarrow.png Counties of Ireland Gotoarrow.png County Donegal Genealogy

Guide to County Donegal Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

County Donegal.jpg

County Donegal (Irish: Contae Dhún na nGall) is a county in Ireland. It is in the province of Ulster and is the most north-westerly county of Ireland.


General County Research Information

Further information about County Donegal is available at the GenUKI site.

Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information


collected by Ffolliott, Rosemary.  Game Licences in North-West Ulster in 1802. Continuing list of Game Certificated printed originally in the Londonderry Journal of 24 Aug. 1802, covering Londonderry, and Co. Donegal. Article in The Irish Ancestor, vol.VIII, no. 2. 1976, pages 84-86, Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2i v7-8.

Census Substitutes

A Muster Rolle of ye Province of Ulster, dated 1630, serves as a census substitute. An abstract is available for free online:

  • Mervine, William M. "The Scotch Settlers in Raphoe, County Donegal, Ireland: A Contribution to Pennsylvania Genealogy," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 36 (1912):257-272. digital version at Internet Archive - free.

Web Sites

Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category County Donegal Genealogy

Help Wanted

Wiki Volunteers Wanted

To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki see Help wanted on the County Donegal Genealogy pages



Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2015, at 23:55.
  • This page has been accessed 12,948 times.