County Monaghan GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to County Monaghan Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
- Further information about County Monaghan is available at the GenUKI site.
General Information about this county
- The county of Monaghan is an inland county of the province of Ulster. It is bounded by counties Louth, Armagh, Tyrone, Fermanagh, Cavan and Meath.
- The county is completely within the diocese of Clogher and province of Armagh. The civil jurisidiction divides Monaghan into the baronies of Cremorne, Dartree, Farney, Monaghan, and Trough. It contains the disfranchised borough, market and assize town of Monaghan; the market and post towns of Carrickmacross, Catale-Blayney, Ballybay, Clones, and Newbliss; and the post towns of Emyvale and Glaslough. The principal villages are Smithsborough, Ballytrain, Ballinode, Glennon, and Rock-Corry. The county court house and gaol are in the town of Monaghan, where the assizes are held; general quarter-sessions are held four times in the year at Monaghan and Castle - Blayney. There are 23 constabulary police stations. In military arrangements the county is in the Belfast district, and contains a barrack at Monaghan for cavalry; the barrack has accommodations for 3 officers, 54 privates, and 44 horses, and hospital accommodation for 4 patients, but is generally occupied by a detachment of infantry from Londonderry or Newry.
- Few of the farms on the larger estates are tenanted in perpetuity; the usual term is 21 years and a life, or 60 years and three lives.
- The larger farms throughout the county do not average 25 acres; smaller, which are much more numerous, not six, so that ten acres may be adopted as the general average.
- The linen manufacture was established here at a very early period, and several towns and villages owe their origin to this branch of national industry. Both spinning and weaving declined considerably until the last few years, within which period the trade has revived.
Information provided by the 1847 edition of Samuel Lewis' "Topographical Dictionary of Ireland".
General County Research Information
Further information about County Monaghan is available at;
- FamilySearch.org- click "All Record Collections"
Archives and Libraries
- The National Library of Ireland
- National Archives of Ireland
- Proni or Public Record Office of Northern Ireland
- Irish Times, also lists all county Heritage Centres' addresses
Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information
- List of County Monaghan Parishes
- Ffolliott, Rosemary. Some Connecting Links between Ireland and the New World from Old Newspapers. Alphabetical listings of births, marriages and deaths in the Munster Newspapers covering U.S.A. Canada, West Indies and England, years 1765-1826. Article found in The Irish Ancestor vol.2, no. 1. 1970 pages 62-69. Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2i
- 1885 County Map Courtesy of London Ancestor
Abstracts of Some Ardagh, Clogher and Kilmore Diocesan Wills. List of Wills proved in these Diocese, covering years 1739-1810, article in The Irish Ancestor, vol.VI.no.2.1974, pages 112-121, Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2i v5-6.
Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and host helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources or support its efforts.
Clogher Historical Society
Tel: +353 47 82304
Member of the Irish Genealogical Project.
Clogher Historical Society
St Macartan's College,
Tel: +353 47 71984
Monaghan County Library
Tel: +353 47 51143
- Monaghan Resources and Help pages RootsChat Monaghan Resources and Help pages. (Free).
http://www.looking4kin.com/group/monaghangenealogy Looking 4 Kin Genealogy & Family History Network - Monaghan]
- RootsIreland baptism records County Monaghan.
Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category County Monaghan Genealogy
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki see Help wanted on the County Monaghan Genealogy pages
- This page was last modified on 5 February 2015, at 14:29.
- This page has been accessed 12,977 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More