Cranborne with Boveridge, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Cranborne, Dorset)

England go to Dorset go to Dorset Parishes

Guide to Cranborne with Boveridge, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cranborne with Boveridge, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cranborne; Monckton-up-Wimborne
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Wimborne and Cranborne PLU
Registration District Wimborne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1602; Separate registers exist for Cranborne St Michael and All Angels beginning 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: 1731
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pimperne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CRANBORNE, a small town, a parish, a sub-district, and a hundred, in Dorset. The town stands in Cranborne Chase, near the boundary with Wiltshire; 7 miles NW of Ringwood railway station, and 9 NNE of Wimborne-Minster. It has a Wesleyan chapel. [1]

BOVERIDGE, a tything, in the parish of Cranborne, union of Wimborne and Cranborne, hundred of Monckton-up-Wimborne, Wimborne division of Dorset. Here is a chapel of ease, lately rebuilt.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Cranborne with Boveridge, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1550
1550
1550
Images
1550-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1813-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1939 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1701-1706 findmypast[7]
1731-1837 Joiner[8]

Cranborne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[9]
CRANBORNE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP

1500s-1800s

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241340.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 05 July 2103.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 05 July 2103.
  3. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  7. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 5 July 2012.
  8. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 June 2012.
  9. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 March 2015, at 19:19.
  • This page has been accessed 2,649 times.